Create Good

I like to think of myself as creative. I also want to be more creative. So, I’m starting this blog about creating. But it’s not just about creating tangible things, such as DIY projects and handmade items (which are two things I LOVE and will hopefully share a lot of). It’s also about creating that which is beyond tangible. Fabricating unique moments, generating inspiration, building solid relationships, making new friends, developing and redeveloping plans/goals for myself and my family, establishing healthy boundaries, and the list goes on (Note: all of these verbs are synonyms of create!).

I’m dedicating my first blog here to creating a, more or less, permanent reference of things in my life that I want to create more or less of. All of these center around what is good and what is not. My thought process here began when I read the daily passage on the YouVersion Bible app a few weeks ago.

God’s readiness to give and forgive is now public. Salvation’s available for everyone! We’re being shown how to turn our backs on a godless, indulgent life, and how to take on a God-filled, God-honoring life. This new life is starting right now, and is whetting our appetites for the glorious day when our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, appears. He offered himself as a sacrifice to free us from a dark, rebellious life into this good, pure life, making us a people he can be proud of, energetic in goodness. {Titus 2:11-14, MSG} 

I immediately was inspired by these verses, but they have spoken to me over time. And in lots of different ways. However, in relation to this post, the last part really stuck out. Energetic in goodness. God wants us to be energetic in goodness. He wants us to create good things. Free ourselves from dark, rebellious (not good) things and live brightly…purely…good. So, here is a (very personal) list (I LOVE lists!) of how I want to create good (and diminish not good) in and around me.

CREATE MORE

  • Time
  • Happiness
  • Grace
  • Confidence
  • Peace
  • Fun
  • Love
  • Admiration
  • Respect
  • True Friends
  • Passion
  • Opportunity
  • Determination
  • Memories

CREATE LESS

  • Clutter
  • Busy-ness
  • Confusion
  • Jealousy
  • Anger
  • Bitterness
  • Defeat
  • Complacency

So, here’s to good energy. I’m going to create good.

Leave a Reply

